miércoles, 27 de mayo de 2009

Argentine Polo Open Championship

The Argentine Polo Open Championship (Campeonato Argentino Abierto de Polo) AKA Abierto de Palermo is the most important international club polo championship and the 5ª most ancient polo championship in the world. It has played since 1893 in the Campo Argentino de Polo (AKA La Catedral) in Palermo, Buenos Aires (Argentina). The Asociación de Polo Argentino organizes the tournament.

If you want to play, your team must be more than 28 goals handicap. This rule is the reason for the good reputation of that tournament. The first edition was played in 1893, Hurlingham won the competion (the line up: Francisco J. Balfour, Frank Furber, Hugo Scott-Robsonm and C.J. Tetley)

The current champion is Ellerstina Etiqueta Negra. Ellerstina Etiqueta Negra defeated La Dolfina 13 - 12 to win the 115º Campeonato Argentino Abierto.

Ellerstina : Facundo Pieres 10 (scored 8 goals, 5 from penalty kicks), Gonzalo Pieres (h) 10 (2), Pablo Mac Donough 10 (2) (Yellow card on the 3ª chuckker) y Juan Martín Nero 9 (1) (Yellow card on the 1ª chuckker). Total: 39.
La Dolfina : Adolfo Cambiaso (h) 10 (scored 8 goals, 6 from penalty kicks), Lucas Monteverde (h) 10 (2), Mariano Aguerre 10 (2) (Yellow card on the 5ª chuckker) y Bartolomé Castagnola 10. Total: 40.

Judges: Daniel Boudou y Matías Baibiene. Referee: Augusto Gómez Romero.

Chukkas : 0-1, 3-2, 4-3, 7-4, 8-7, 9-8, 11-10, 12-12 y 13-12.

No hay comentarios: